# NYOS Charter School School Board Minutes June 9, 2016

The NYOS School Board met in the Kramer library on June 9, 2016 with a 6:10 p.m. Call to Order by John Tintera. In attendance was Secretary Ean Fulks, Parliamentarian Kati Kieffer, along with Board members: Nick Giangiulio, Lisa Lamkin, Dr. April Michaud, Dr. Scott Gibby, Sophia Cartlidge, Samantha Gladwell, Clare Benish, Toni Drengenberg, Christee Jackson and Annemarie Manley.

Staff members present included Kathleen Zimmermann, Alyssa Moore, Curtis Wilson, and Terry Berkenhoff.

## Agenda

The Board discussed the items on the agenda.

Dr. Scott Gibby moved to strike item 3h. The motion passed.

Dr. Scott Gibby moved to strike item 3j. The motion passed.

Dr. Scott Gibby moved to strike item 31. The motion passed.

Move item 3e to after item 1. The motion passed.

The Board recognized the 2016 Advanced Placement Scholars for all of their hard work.

#### **Executive Session**

The Board went into Executive Session at 6:18 p.m.

Item 1: Texas Governance Code Section 551.072

Item 2: Texas Governance Code Section 551.076

The Board meeting reconvened at 6:37 p.m.

#### **Old Business/Public Comment**

The Board discussed the minutes for May 12, 2016 meeting and they will be presented at a future meeting with suggested corrections.

The Board discussed and voted on the minutes for April 7, 2016. Nick Giangiulio moved to approve the April 7, 2016 minutes as presented. The motion passed.

No public comment.

#### **Board New Business**

The Board discussed and voted on a resolution authorizing a tax-exempt loan form Frost Bank,

approving and delivery of loan agreement, promissory note and other documents in connection therewith, authorizing the redemption of certain outstanding bonds, and containing other matters related thereto. Dr. Scott Gibby moved to sign the resolution as presented by Kathleen Zimmermann and the bank representative. The motion passed.

The board discussed and voted on emergency operations plan that was presented in the Executive Session. Lisa Lamkin moved to approve the emergency operation plan. The motion passed.

The board Acknowledged the outside going Board members: Dr. Scott Gibby, and Sophia Cartlidge. Nick Giangiulio was present an award for all the years he was part of the NYOS Board.

The Board seated the new members of the NYOS School Board: Laura Collier, and Sarah Moore.

The Board discussed and determined new officers for 2016-2017 school year:

Dr. April Michaud – Chair Sarah Moore – Parliamentarian Secretary – Ean Fulks

The Board discussed and voted on changes to Open Government Policy Addendum 1 records Management. Kati Kieffer moved to accept the policy as presented with no changes. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on an expansion amendment to add Hays CISD to the NYOS geographic boundaries. John Tintera moved to accept the expansion to the NYOs geographic boundaries. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on bank resolution to open new account. Lisa Lankin moved open a new account with Frost Bank. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on statement of impact for Jubilee school. Lisa Lamkin moved to approve the statement of impact for Jubilee school. The Board voted that there would not be any significant impact on NYOS and signed the statement.

The Board discussed and determined dates for the 2016-2017 school year Board meetings:

July 14, 2016	August 11, 2016	September 8, 2016
October 13, 2016	November 17, 2016	December 8, 2016
January 12, 2017	February 9, 2017	March 9, 2017
April 20, 2017	May 11, 2017	June 8, 2017
June 29, 2017		

### **Committees**

The Board determined new members for the Compensation Committee:

```
Kati Kieffer – Chair
Christee Jackson – member
Laura Collier – member
Dr. April Michaud – member
```

Dr. April Michaud spoke on the behalf of the Financial Oversight Committee. The current NYOS enrollment is at 927 students and will up to 960 at the start of the 2016-2017 school year.

The board discussed and voted on budget for 2016-2017 school year. John Tintera moved to accept he budget as presented. The motion passed.

The Board determined new members for the Financial Oversight Committee:

```
John Tintera – Chair
Dr. April Michaud – member
Samantha Gladwell – member
Sarah Morre – member
Kati Kieffer – member
```

The Board determined new members for the Board Development Committee:

```
Laura Collier – Chair
Lisa Lamkin – member
```

### **Other Business**

The board discussed agenda items for June 29, 2016 meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:43 p.m.

Bronwyn Sanderson Recorder

Ean Fulks Secretary